World Englishes in the Multilingual World

Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ, USA
November 16-18, 2013


Special gathering to remember Professor Yamuna Kachru at IAWE 2013

In light of the untimely death of Professor Yamuna Kachru, the Vice President and President Elect of IAWE, on April 19, 2013, an informal, personal gathering is being organized for those who wish to remember and celebrate Yamuna-ji's great friendship. This event will take place following the conclusion of the first day's program, in the evening of November 16. All are welcome.

As part of the conference's official program, the session for her originally scheduled Focus Lecture (Day 3, November 18) is now devoted to a retrospect of her significant and influential research as a leading scholar in the field of World Englishes.


The 19th Conference of the International Association for World Englishes (IAWE) will be held November 16-18, 2013, at Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona, USA.

The theme of the conference is “World Englishes in the Multilingual World.” From the beginning of World Englishes studies, multilingualism has always been an important part of the field, whether in focusing on the influences of other languages on the forms and functions of English, in examining the multilingual creativity in literary work in Englishes, or in exploring issues concerning the teaching of English to speakers of other languages. This year’s theme encourages us not only to continue research and engage in discussion on English in a multilingual community, but also to critically examine the relationship between English and other languages while contextualizing our work in today’s complex global network of languages.

The location of the conference is also appropriate for this theme. The state of Arizona in the Southwest region of the USA is a very exciting place to study language diversity and in particular the relationship between English and other languages. A large population of Spanish speakers resides in the state, and the Navajo nation, located in northeastern Arizona, also has a strong presence. Consequently, there is a large interdisciplinary group of scholars and students at Arizona State University interested in language diversity issues.

This year’s program includes lectures by the following invited speakers as well as over 120 concurrent presentations.

Plenary Speakers

  • Suzanne K. Hilgendorf (Simon Fraser University; President, IAWE)
  • S. N. Sridhar (Stony Brook University)
  • Terrence G. Wiley (President, Center for Applied Linguistics)

Focus Lecture Speakers

  • Teresa L. McCarty (University of California-Los Angeles)
  • Cecil L. Nelson (Indiana State University)

The tentative program will become available on the Program page in August, 2013.

If you are interested in presenting a paper at the conference, please visit the Proposal page for CFP and the link to the online abstract submission site.

Important Dates

  April 15 Online Registration Begins
  April 30 Proposal Submissions Deadline
  July Notification Letters Sent
Presenter Confirmation & Registration Due
  August Preliminary Program Available Online
  August 31 Early Bird Registration Deadline
  October 25 Regular Registration Deadline
  November 16-18 Conference

About IAWE

The International Association for World Englishes (IAWE) is an international scholarly association which aims to establish links among those who are involved with any aspect of World Englishes in research and/or teaching. The association focuses on global issues relating to three major aspects of World Englishes, language, literature, and pedagogy. IAWE is committed to the study of the forms and functions of varieties of Englishes in diverse cultural and sociolinguistic contexts. Please visit the IAWE website for more information about the organization.

The Braj B. Kachru Student Award

In 2012, the International Association for World Englishes (IAWE) established the Braj B. Kachru Student Award to recognize the best paper presented by a student at the association's annual conference. The award is named in honor of Prof. Braj B. Kachru, whose influential scholarship established the field of World Englishes, and is in recognition in particular of his exceptional commitment to student scholarship throughout his career. The award includes a check for US $800.00 as well as the cash reimbursement of the current year's IAWE membership and conference registration fees.

The evaluation committee for the Braj B. Kachru Student Award has now completed the initial evaluation phase for this year's award. This year again the quality of the competition is very high, with 13 applications being submitted. After careful consideration of all applications, the committee members have arrived at a decision on the top three finalists. They are, in alphabetical order,

Annalisa Corioso
Aleksandra Kasztalska
Danae Perez-Inofuentes

These finalists now move on to the next and final round of evaluation, when committee members will attend their presentations at IAWE 2013.

The winner of the 2013 Braj B. Kachru Student Award for best paper presented by a student will be announced during the closing ceremony on the final day of the conference.

Congratulations to these three students on being selected among the finalists for this year's award. The committee would also like to express appreciation to all the students who submitted applications for this year's competition.

Please visit the IAWE website for more information about the award.


The 2013 International Association for World Englishes was made possible by generous contributions from various organizations and individuals. The organizign committee is particularly grateful to:

  • ASU Department of English
  • ASU Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
  • ASU Graduate College
  • ASU Project Humanities
  • ASU College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS)
  • ASU School of Letters and Sciences
  • ASU New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  • ASU Institute for Humanities Research
  • ASU School of Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies
  • ASU Emeritus College
  • Mouton de Gruyter
Arizona State University